top of page
  • ywheng89

Ikko OH1s Review - Hidden Gem?




Intro


There are several models in the OH series which are highly touted, namely the OH10 as well as the OH1, at least from what I heard. Today I have the OH1s with me. Let's see if it’s able to hold out or stand out among the competition out there today.



Packaging


Not going to be talking much about the packaging as I've already made an unboxing video for it. You may check them out here

In short, I like the packaging very much, very premium and the bundled eartips are a very welcoming gesture. I have a very good unboxing experience.



Build and Comfort


The build quality of OH1s is very solid. It consists of aluminium and resin. Majority of the shell is aluminium. The size is also very small and it stays in my ear very comfortably and I have no issue wearing them for long hours.


When they’re in my ears, I totally forgot that I'm actually wearing an IEM. They are that lightweight. Provided that you are using it with the stock cable of course. Your mileage might vary depending on the cable that you will be using it with.




Source


Foobar2k -> RHA DACAMP L1 Lineout Cayin C5 -> OH1S

Apple’s Type C Dongle -> OH1S



Sound


Upon putting them in my ears, hitting the play button. I am instantly amazed by the level of details and technicalities that this little gem offers. It is highly resolving and it’s unlike anything that I have in my collection. For some, it might be a little too glaring, but i actually like the way it is, it is also possible that i’m not as sensitive to treble compared to others.


Tonality wise, I would describe them as very revealing and slightly lean overall, best to pair them with warm source. I like the detailed presentation of OH1s in general. Your mileage might vary.



Bass

  • The bass coming from this little gem is very lean, at least to my ears

  • Definitely not for basshead

  • It is tight and fast,adequate quantity to ensure there’s still some room for fun

  • As mentioned earlier, the bass is lean and naturally, it lacks some warmth and body

  • The bass is fast and tight and it makes it very enjoyable on tracks on Slipknot’s Duality and System of a Down’s Chop Suey!



Mids

  • Vocal is rather forward and rather intimate

  • The vocal to my ears they are rather thin sounding and somewhat dry, but it doesn’t sound bad at all

  • The upper mids might be a little too glaring for some, but I find them to synergize very well with such tuning.

  • Overall, the mids is not this gem’s strong point



Treble

  • Energetic and complement very well with the lean signature of this gem

  • No signs of sibilance nor piercing high

  • Smooth and energetic is how i would describe the treble

  • Plenty or air

  • Very good micro details



Soundstage/Imaging

  • Soundstage is average to my ears

  • Lacking in width

  • Imaging is average,doesn’t really stand out for this price point

  • Instruments separation is also average to my ears

  • Despite having average imaging capability, i’m still able to pinpoint the instruments properly



Driveability

  • Easy to drive and you will get acceptable volume level even off smartphone

  • Benefit from better source/dac/amp

  • Does not really benefit much from amping



Cable Rolling

  • Cable rolling does not change the signature much but it does improve the note weight depending on the cable material used

  • I found them to pair well with copper cable,it will kinda tame down the upper mids a little for those who find them to be too glaring

  • Doesn’t really synergize well with SPC as it made it even brighter



Final Thoughts


When I first listened to OH1S, I found it hard to accept it due to the glaring upper mids and it’s highly resolving nature. However, as I used them longer and probably they kinda settled in (burned in), I grew to like its signature. It is airy and very detailed.


Now, who will not like this? I guess those who prefer a meatier bass response will not like OH1s, the bass on this little gem is lean, the dosage is just right and responds when it's called for. Nothing more, nothing less.


As for me, I like it personally. Who would I recommend this to? Someone who’s looking for a highly resolving hybrid IEM that doesn’t have the BA timbre and flat bass response. I will not recommend this to someone who prefers meatier bass response and also slightly darker tonality.


Overall, i will rate this IEM which i listened via my setup a 4/5


*A big thanks to Ikko for sending over this unit for me to review. I receive no compensation that will affect my evaluation towards this IEM.


If you guys are interested, head over to Ikko’s store to grab this unit!








22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page